Traveling to Italy

1. Hi All~

I'm pretty new to purse forum; however, I LOVE a good bag!!

I am traveling to Italy in May and would like to add Gucci, Prada or LV to my collection. Can you offer any suggestions on what you can get the best deal(s) on in Italy or where I can purchase them at??

Thank you!!

2. you will have no problems with any of the brands you mentioned if you are visiting the major cities like Rome, Milan, Florence & Venice. there is a 12% VAT refund back when shopping in Europe.

3. I just got back from Rome yesterday. The area around Piazza Di Spagna has loads of high-end shopping -- Fendi, Prada, Gucci, YSL, Vuitton, Hermes, Tods, Hogan, etc, etc. You can do okay on high-end bags -- for example, a Celine bag I'd been eyeing was $160 less than US retail (that includes the 12% VAT refund). You need to be careful though, because the dollar is weak so everything is more expensive than it appears. (Basically, for every $100 Euro you spend you're actually spending about $131.)

There are outlets outside of Rome and Florence. I didn't go, but I've heard the deals are very good. Check out a copy of "Born to Shop Italy" for all the details.

4. Thanks for the info.

I am going to Rome, Florence, Venice, Milan and Cinque Terre and then we are flying back through London.

I realize that the dollar is weak in comparison to the Euro. Can't you get the 12 % VAT refunded??

I have picked up the book you mentioned... "Born to Shop Italy" and have been reading through it.

My main interest is Prada, Gucci or LV.

Keep the suggestions coming!! Thank you!!!