Top 5 classic Chanel bags - help a newbie

1. Hi, I'd like everyone's advice as to what a newbie should get for her first Chanel. I need to be educated so I can make an informed decision.

So what are the top 5 classic bags? Please post pics because I'm a total novice regarding Miss Chanel's bags.

For me, I'm 47, a social worker, and dress very casually. For comparison, my LV's are: red epi speedy, fuschia denim baggy, and tambourin. I prefer silver over gold hardware (hardware color can be a deal-breaker) and my favorite color is red. My favorite bag style is hobo or messenger but I'm not a fan of the uber-huge bags that are the rage today. Oh, and it needs a shoulder strap.

Thanks so much! I look forward to seeing pics of luscious Chanel bags.

2. Check our the new red Expandable Flap or tote
    Either a GST or PST - tons of pics in our library, good value, lots of different colors
    and most will recommend a Classic flap.

3. 1. Definately a red jumbo flap in caviar (you can use it messenger style and I've heard it fits a ton)
    [​IMG]

2. Medium Flap in black for day/night
    [​IMG]

3. GST in any color
    [​IMG]

Maybe some sort of bowler as a "fun" bag and a reissue for going out?

Cabas is good if you like hobo styles. I think that's going to be my next Chanel splurge, if I can find one in black. Here's a silver:
    [​IMG]

4. I'm a newbie myself and just went crazy buying everything - buy now, decide later as someone's avatar reads! But welcome to Chanel, join the madness :lol:

Anyway...I got two of the classics:
    -classic Jumbo flap
    -GST; this season it's out in black, brown, I think navy (but I haven't seen any) and bordeaux <-- v. pretty deep wine color, almost brown; you might like that!

both of these are available with silver H/W

As everyone else here says, go and try on anything that interests you to see how they look on you. I did and still can't decide...