Theory Clothing - Quality or Overpriced?

1. What do you think about Theory clothing? I love the idea of Theory -- simple cuts and unfussy designs that you can be easily mixed and matched without too much thought.

But before I invest in more Theory for my wardrobe ($300 for a cardigan -- ouch!!), I wanted to make sure it's worth the money. The skirts and pants are unlined, which seem unusual for something so expensive. But, on the other hand, I've heard that their fabrics are really high end (I'm not so sure I agree, but then again, I'm no fashion expert). Any thoughts on this? How do their clothes hold up after a year or so?

And finally, any one try washing their stuff in washing machine or by hand. Everything of theirs I've seen so far, cotton t-shirts included, have been dry clean only! :sad:
  2. I LOVE Theory clothing! Their thick sweaters are usually great quality. I am unsure of thinner tops though, like their cotton tees, etc, since I don't have any. Their pants fit very well and are quite flattering. I agree they can have a pricey MSRP attached to it, but if they go on sale, which they often do (end of season, or there's always discounted Theory at any high-end department outlet store ie. Off Fifth, Last Call), you should definitely give them a try.
  3. Generally well cut pieces but lacking in the quality where the fabric used is concerned. I like their cothing but think they are over-priced. I'd rather expend a little effort to get Dolce Gabbana or Gucci on sale for what Theory costs at full price.
  4. There is always the outlet store (if you have one near you, I know there is one in Cabazon, CA) where you can find great discounts!