The Perfect College Tote? Help!!

1. I'm an incoming freshman to a university in Washington D.C. and I'm all ready on the hunt for the perfect tote bag! The bag needs to be:

--large enough to fit a 13" laptop
    --closable on top (I have an open tote from LeSportSac right now and things fall out of it all the time! It's so annoying.)

And of course it goes without saying that it has to be fashionable. ;) I've done my usual vintage shopping but no luck. A Longchamp Pliage would fit all my requirements--and I like how it looks--but the fact that it's so ubiquitous makes me kind of hesitant. Thoughts? Help!!
  2. Herve Chapelier totes are roomy, very functional and come in a ton of fun colors... only drawback is that, like the Longchamp, alot of girls have them.
  3. longchamp bags a good, coach hamptons weekend multifunction tote, or vuitton navgilo (sp?)
  4. I love Herve Chapelier- you could run a truck over those bags and they'd still work as good as new.
  5. Hi, what's your budget?
  6. Non-leather choice: please take a look at Janinekingdesigns' laptop totes:

Abstract No: 9

Stylish (to me anyway :smile:), lightweight and durable
    $49 plus shipping

- Dimensions: 18" wide seam to seam x 12" high x 4½"
    - Exterior Zip Compartment is 7" deep and spans full
    width of bag.
    - Three interior pockets. See picture of bag interior
    for pocket dimensions.
    - Secure top zipper closure
    - Double straps are 24" end to end. Made from durable
    nylon webbing (not inferior polypropylene).
    - Fully lined with heavy black twill treated to
    repell moisture and stains. The twill we use is heavy
    like canvas but with a tighter weave for even better

7. i'm a student and i really like longchamp too! why don't you try one of the less ubiquitous ones like the black bag with black leather and silver buttons? i see that one a lot less than the other colored ones.