Tell me what you REALLY think

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I received an email (not even a PM) from someone on this forum less than an hour ago. The email was not sent via this forum, but from some email address; I guess whoever it is found my email address in my profile, which I put there for Instant Messaging purposes.

This person, who claims to be just 'advising' me, says that because I'm only a student, I buy my bags and shoes with my parents' money, which makes me look extremely extravagant. And that because the other ladies on this forum work hard to buy their bags, it only seems like I'm showing off at my parents' expense. This person also feels that "people will think more highly of me if I show that I work to earn my bags, instead of spending my parents' money", and that if I want to be a moderator for the LV sub-forum, I should "prove my worth by helping other people and giving better advice instead of showing off what I have".

Yes, it's true that my parents give me shopping money. When my mom came to Buffalo in May for my Commencement, we went to Manhattan and she bought me a bunch of stuff, and she 'encouraged' me to beat the latest price increase. But both my parents buy designer stuff for themselves too, and they don't see anything wrong with me having it as long as I know how to take care of something so expensive.

As an international student, my job options are limited to the campus only. I have an internship that requires 16 hours a week -- which I only get credit hours for -- and even though in the summer I'm allowed to work 40 hours a week on campus, everything I earn goes to my rent, car, insurance, bills and groceries. If the ladies here work to buy their bags, I work to keep a roof over my damn head :yes:.