Teachers?

1. I've noticed that there are a lot of lawyers and people who work in finance here at the forum. Are there any other teachers here? If so, what do you teach and how long have you been teaching?

I am currently in my 7th year teaching in a middle school. I've taught English/Reading to all three grades (6,7, and 8). I love it, but often wished it paid more b/c after the bills there is very little to put towards my handbag obsession!

2. i'm THINKING of getting into teaching primary school.

i'm a fresh grad so i'm unsure of what i want to do. it's actually kind of scary.

3. I'm a teacher too! I've taught grades seven to nine French and English, and grades 3-6 all subjects. I also did a lot of substitute teaching in between, as well as teaching outdoor programs like cross country skiing, mountain biking and track cycling.

I've got about four years of teaching experience (classroom) and five years outdoors, and I agree it doesn't pay all that well! What can you do? Fortunately, my husband is paid quite well.

4. I'm not a teacher, but I'm thinking of becoming one! I've thought about making the switch to teaching so I can go to grad school in the evenings and get my master's in communications. I'd like to eventually become a college professor :amuse: My mom has been teaching for 25+ years, she currently teaches history and social studies in Spanish at a magnet elementary school.

Teachers rock :nuts: :love:

5. I was an English teacher for one year while I finished my PhD, but after that year, I went to work at Xerox as a writer and eventually a product marketing manager. Loved teaching but there was little hope of finding a tenure track position.

6. I am a new teacher, I teach grade two. It is not an easy job, but I love it.