Stomach pain - advice?

1. Hello all,

I woke up this morning feeling really nauseus and my whole body hurt, like right before you are about to get sick. I spent a lot of time with my mom over the weekend, who has a pretty bad cold right now. I think the combination of that plus not getting enough sleep and being really tired is why I feel so sick right now.

I'm starting to get a little concerned because I keep getting these sharp pains in my stomach and my back has been really hurting for the past few hours. It's 5pm here and I haven't eaten anything all day, only been drinking some Gatorade.

Has anyone experienced anything similar? I'm not sure if I need to see my doctor or if it's something that can be cured with regular medicine. Any advice/suggestions would be great. I've been lying in bed all day with the laptop feeling miserable :sad:

2. I'm no doctor...but since you haven't eaten all day, I would try to eat a piece of bread or maybe some crackers.

Where exactly is the pain located?

3. Where is the pain exactly? If around the belly button or right quadrant, it could be an appendix flare. But there is other symptoms too, so do NOT freak out. Constipation can also cause such pain.

I agree, try and eat a few crackers. Sounds like you may have contracted the flu from Mom. Lots of liquids, take asparin, and REST.

ETA: I'm no doctor either, but I raised two kids and DH for the last 20 years, and they are all alive still.

4. Thanks for the advice, omgsweet and Speedy. The sharp pains are mostly happening at the top of my stomach, but it hurts pretty much all over, so it's hard to tell. I already got my appendix removed a few years ago, so it can't be that. I'm more concerned with the back pain. I'm going to try and eat something in a bit. Thanks again!

5. Sounds like a stomach flu to me.

If it is, I hope its just the 24 hour kind.

Have some soup!! Hugs to you!!!

6. Thanks omgsweet, I hope it doesn't last very long either. BTW, your daughter is adorable!