"Starter Bag" ?

1. I am making my transition from loving LV to loving Chanel.

My long background -- I have a few LV items (an Alma and St. Jacques in epi, a wallet in vernis, and a passport holder, pochette, key/change holder, and 1 piece of luggage in mono canvas). I am getting a few more items in April (Speedy 30 in damier canvas, a bigger wallet in damier canvas, two pochettes in epi and damier azur, and a Neo Cabby in black denim). All that to say once I make my additional purchases I think I will have a good assortment of knock-around bags, everyday bags, night-on-the-town bags, and luggage. Therefore I won't "need" anything.

I feel like I'm growing up and am looking to upgrade a bit, and after careful "research" Chanel is my upgrade of choice. What is a good starter bag? I am a lawyer and 29. I want it to be stylish, classic, but also be functional (i.e., I need to be able to throw a newspaper and heels in there if I need to.) I am looking to make my first purchase by my birthday (if DH will let me --lol) in October.

I defer to the Chanel experts ....
  2. I was going to say a flap since you're looking for a classic bag and your other bags sounded smaller, but if you want to be able to throw alot in it, I'd go for the GST in caviar leather. It holds a ton, is a classic piece, and the caviar leather will last ages. Welcome to the dark side :smile:
  3. echo_23, thanks for the welcome and the suggestion. Yeah, I think it's time for me to have "big-girl" bags. I can't wait to see what other people suggest. I have convinced DH to let me spend $3K a year on bags. (After much protest b/c he think's it's utterly superficial and useless). That doesn't go far in Chanel world. But I can hopefully accumulate a palrtry one bag per year.
  4. Can I suggest a jumbo flap since your wallets look quite big and you can also use it for work;)

I can imagine the jumbo on a suit, looks fantastic!:yahoo: