So how do I ask for a job?

1. Ok so here's the deal: I've been donating my time with a company over the last 7 months now (one a week) and having a blast. As a student i am finishing school soon and want to ask for a job. This is the best company
    ever, I get along great with everyone, i love the direction its going in and everything! But here's the thing, i have a competition. Although many of the member of staff have given me complements such as: "You're the best intern we have ever had" and "We trust you to stay on the X level with Y" etc. I'm the only intern that was given a Christmas staff present because "I'm part of the family" which are all great things to hear but if they have such a heavy flow of interns why would they want to pay to get the work done when its offered free (on a different level the "why pay for the cow when you get the milk for free?" attitude) As i would soon ask for a job, I recently asked some of the staff to put in a good word for me, all of which happily obliged.

Ok so heres what i was planning on saying when i get the chance to talk the appropriate person face to face:
    "I've been with your company for a few months now, and it's unfortunate that I have to leave due to studying commitments, i have enjoyed every minute and can't wait to get into the industry. When my studies are finished I will be looking for a career and was wondering if you would be able to help me out? I feel very at home here i am on great terms with all the members of staff, I love the product and frankly couldn't imagine working for any other company. I really thank you for the experience and all the assistance you have offered me." So was that ok? I will let the other person respond during that and won't make it seem so rehearsed.