Should I get a new OB?

1. I posted this question in another thread, but I think that I should start a new thread since it's essentially an independent and unrelated question:

I am currently 26 weeks pregnant. I recently asked to have a discussion with my doctor about epidurals. My doctor asked me what I wanted to know about them. I asked her to give me the pros and cons. She sidesteped the question by saying that it's a philosophical debate. So, I proceeded to tell her the little I know about what epidurals. I was hoping she would correct any wrong info I may have. Instead she got very offended by some of my misinformation and told me to take a lamaze class to educate myself. Once I become more educated on the subject matter, I can have an educated discussion with her.

I thought that that's what my doctor is for- educating me on medical matters? Is it right for her to expect me to be "educated" on medical matters before I talk to her? I am a lawyer, not a doctor. Why would she have this kind of expectation of me? DH found her tone to be quite condescending, and I was quite put off by her. Should I look for a new doctor? (I have to admit that I have no medical common sense what-so-ever. So she may have been frustrated by my lack of medical knowledge. Maybe it's more me than her?)

2. It really depends how comfortable you feel switching doctors at this stage. Maybe check with your friends and family or call your insurance company for recomendations. You were not asking anything out of the ordinary; your OB is supposed to help you with information, Lamaze is great but I want my OB for information first. I switched Drs at 4 1/ months for insurance reasons, I had no problem switching over the records and ended up loving my new doctor. She delived my next baby too. Best of luck to you and congrats on your baby.