Shopping for a bag in the US

1. Hi! I have a question about the taxes (VAT) in the US. I am going there this weekend and i was thinking of buying a bag (deciding between a bbag, paddington or sth from LV). So, will i pay what it says on the price tag or will i be charged with more because of the tax? If so, can i reclaim the tax with the Taxfree service when i go back to europe?
    Or do you think i should not buy anything in the US and buy here in europe instead? are the prices higher here or there?

Please, someone shed some light on this, coz im scared to death that i'll make a mistake... im a student and i work hard to save up the money, so a mistake would really be a BIG mistake for me...:s

Thanks in advance!!!
  2. As far as I understand, it depends on the nature of the tax you're paying. In Australia, we have this thing called "duty free". People from overseas can buy items without duty charged on them, so effectively they are cheaper for a tourist than they are for people living in Australia. The idea is that when you go back home, you go through customs in your country and you will be asked to "declare" any purchases over a certain amount. You will be asked to pay duty on the purchases over the amount. This is why most people when travelling overseas, buy stuff, then take all the tags off before packing it in their luggage, so they don't declare the items in customs and don't have to pay duty.

The best person to advise you would be your travel agent, but definitely get some US PFers to talk to you first, to get an idea of what tax you'll be paying. You should post exactly where you're going, because the taxes are different for different States in America.

Also, have fun!!
  3. Oh, wow, i didn't even think about the customs! Thanks for the heads up!
    I really will have to rethink the whole idea of buying something in the US. I hope though that some PFers will be able to help me out.