Sellers-- what is fair for a Best Offer?

1. I'm asking this because there was a thread a while ago about people making silly best offers. I'm a newbie seller. Is 75% of asking price OK? 70%? Or less depending on the offers you get? I know this is very individual, I'm just curious what other people do.

2. I think that you as a seller have to make that desicion, but as a buyer I try first with around 25-30% off, also when you receive an offer that is too low try to send a counter offer. I normally mark the item around 20% more than what I really want to get, so I can have the best offer option available for buyers. When I receie a good offer I wait at least one more day to accept it just in case a better one shows up.

3. I usually also list 20-25% more than what I want. And then hopefully only need to take around 10% off what I want. Personally, I never lowball that much. I think 10-15% off is a reasonable offer, UNLESS you know you only want to pay 10-15% off nd you like to haggle and counteroffer to get to that point.

4. I use an eBay calculator. Normally I list the item with a BIN of (generally) $50 above my purchase price plus fees. I set the decling $20-$30 below that. (this is for new items)

5. thanks for the tips!

6. I'm cleaning our my closet and I usually just use regular auction w/ BIN, but decided to test out the Best Offer option on a few higher priced items. I can tell you offering a Seller 1/3 or less of the BIN is ridiculous and pretty insulting. I had that happen on two Coach bags that were brand new. I was perfectly prepared to take an offer of 25% less - no problem and did indeed end up doing that with one very nice buyer. I thought it might be a good option, but so far seems to bring out the "cheap" in buyers.

7. Maybe because they have a "might as well" attitude-- I think I'll stick to auctions for now.