Retin-A

1. I'm thinking about asking my derm for a prescription of this. Does anyone use it? If so, would you recommend it? I need something to help my very mild acne and I hear it helps prevent wrinkles.

2. I've been using it for at least 16 years, probably not as consistent when I was younger as I do now but it's the only thing that helps keep my skin fairly clear and I think it really does help keep the skin looking young too!

3. I love this stuff!!! I haven't used it in years b/c I got a new dermatologist who didn't want to prescribe it for me, but when I did use it, I had such nice blemish-free skin. I have very few wrinkles now (I'm 51) and I attribute a lot of that to my use of Retin-A in my 30's and 40's.

My skin looked slightly red while I used it and was prone to sunburn a lot easier. Also, eyebrow waxing caused my skin to burn and peel. But other than that, I was thrilled with the results. I wish I still used it.

4. I've been using Retin-A for a few years and it does help to clear up acne. It's a bit drying (like benzoyl peroxide) for the first few weeks of usage but your skin will adapt to it. And I second what leelee said about redness when waxing. Apparently the Retin-A will make your skin more sensitive than normal.

5. I got my Retin-A prescription today, so I'm going to start tonight. I've read the reviews and they say to expect heavy peeling, breakouts and redness :sad: but I'll suffer for beautiful skin. I'll definitely update with the results. Good skin here I come!

6. Don't forget to stay out of the sun..Retina works wonders. I use mine every other night to reduce redness..I got the retina that you keep refrigarated, it's more potent. Good luck!