Resume Question: Functional vs. Chronlogical

1. Ok, I feel like my head is about to explode and implode. First of all, I've revised my resume gawd knows how many times already since last October. By revising, I mean COMPLETE overhaul. The problem is, every person who sees my resume all want it changed THEIR way. So, it doesn't matter how many times I revise something, somebody always has something to say.

Now here's where I'm really confused. Functional vs. Chronological, which one is better? I know that the default answer would be Chronological, because it's easier to read and takes less effort. I've been told by several headhunters that chronological is the way to go because most recruiters are too "lazy" (that's their words, not mine) to bother reading anything else.

However, this is where the problem is. Although I have a lot of skills and experience, chronological works AGAINST me. I've gone through quite a number of jobs since I graduated from school. In each instances, I left due to situations beyond my control. Nonetheless, the fact that I've gone through several jobs would've already deterred any interested personnel from even wanting to talk to me. This is WHY I used functional resumes.

Functional resumes illustrates my strength and expands on my experience. Even though I have gone through several jobs and been through several different industries, it worked to my advantage in that it gave me a wide range of skills that WILL come in handy in many instances. If one even takes the time to READ my resume, they'll see that I have a lot to offer. Yes, I know I sounded arrogant just now, but coming from someone like me (who never thinks I'm good enough), saying that I'm qualified for something means that I truly believe that I am.