Red Meat

1. Okay. I've been restricting my red meat consumption for about 2 months now. I've only had it twice in that time frame. The thing is: I've been losing weight but I have been ridiculously tired. I suffer from iron deficiency anaemia and I do not have the discipline to take iron supplements. I just take a multi-vitamin which does nothing for my energy level. Seriously, I could have 2 grand soy lattes and still feel tired as hell. I tried indulging in peanuts and fish but to no avail... I am so damn tired!!!!!!!!!! Literally!!

Is there anyone here in a similar circumstance?

2. There are LOTS of plant based foods that have tons of iron (some even more than meats) I don't have time now, but I will write more for you later !!!!:yes:

3. ^^^ Thanks cassi!!

4. I haven't really had red meat in like years, but I don't have much of a problem (females are mor eprone to anemia and stuff though), but there's quite a thin line between "exhausted" and "working order" for me. I don't really ever think about eating stuff with a iron, perhaps I should try...

5. ^ Wow! You took the words right out of my mouth : ) I also haven't eaten red meat in years but I do eat a lot of chicken and fish. I feel tired a lot but can still function. I think this has more to do with my late night studying than the way I eat though. Talk to your doctor, maybe he/she can recommend something to make you feel a little better.

6. OK...here are some comparisons of Iron in foods. Each listing is in Iron mg per serving. These figures are a general idea of the iron and of course there can be variations etc....

I'll start with animal products:
    1/2 cup of milk 2% .1
    3/4 oz Cheddar cheese .1
    One medium egg .5
    2 oz ground beef 1.1
    2 oz roasted chicken .6
    2oz baked cod .3
    2 oz baked/broiled salmon .3

Here are the non animal products. You can get tons of Iron without eating meats !!!
    Apple .2
    dried apricot 1.6
    bananna .4
    dried fig 2.1
    prunes 2.1