Recipe for Alfredo dish or any delicious Italian meal?

1. ok, So for Valentine's Day Im going to cook my SO a delicious meal and he told me that he would like something with Alfredo...or whatever.

I dont want to make spagetti, and he told me he is not a fan of lasagna (which sucks cause I make a good dish)

so, can anyone help me out? I'm a pretty good cook so don't worry if something might be too difficult for me to cook, unless if I have to make the pasta from scratch. LOL

thanks guys;)
  2. also, what kind of meat should be served with this alfredo? and choice of wine? thanks
  3. I love, love, love alfredo sauce.

two ways to do it:

The "chef" way, and my way (easier)

Chef way:

for l lb of pasta,
    melt 1/2 stick butter in pan. Add one cup heavy cream, and slowly bring it to a gentle, very gentle simmer (do not let it boil!)
    Add 1/2 cup shreaded parmesan cheese
    season to taste with salt, white pepper and a tiny dash of nutmeg.

My way.

Cook 1 lb of pasta. Drain. Add 1/2 stick butter to the pot you cooked the pasta in. Add pasta back in. stir to melt the butter, then add heavy cream until to coat (1 cup, maybe less) stirr, add cheese, then stir. season to taste. I really like cracked black pepper.

done! (I never said it was healthy!)

I like a nice, acidic white wine with alfredo, I think it cuts through the richness of the cheese better. Sauvingnon blanc is my favorite, but pino gringio is also good.

I like to make the pasta and top it with sliced, grilled chicken. Add the wine, and a nice green salad, and your're set!
  4. I make mine very similar to coach4me's. One tip though....use freshly grated/shredded cheese (ie-grate your own!!!). The pregrated ones are filled with anti-caking ingredients that can make the sauce a bit grainy.

I usually serve plain with a nice salad. I also sometimes add broccoli or asparagus tips or some grilled shrimp....YUM, now I want alfredo.