Received some bad news today ...

1. Sorry I have to get this off my chest for a bit ... Everyone at the company got an email from our CEO today telling us that they'll be doing MAJOR layoffs. The only department that will get away unscathed is the sales department. I'm a financial analyst at an industrial bank. I close deals, do analysis and generate reports, etc etc. My company sells commercial and residential loans, does retail banking, as well as securitization. Due to the fact that majority of the borrowers are sub-prime borrowers, the market is in very bad shape right now. A lot of our competitors had started huge layoffs before the holidays so in this respect, my company had been kind in not letting ppl go before the holidays.

However, getting that email really really stressed me out and made me feel depressed ... I've been wanting to get a different job for a while now but I have not been having much luck. My qualification is NOT bad, but for some odd reasons I just am not getting anywhere ... Now with this looming over my head, I have to PUT OFF my vacation to Singapore in February because it just wouldn't be a good idea to ask my boss for vacation at such a time ... After all, I wouldn't want to come back without a job ... I was going to go this February to celebrate 4th year anniversary with my SO, since we weren't able to celebrate 2nd or 3rd year as he had been in Singapore the whole time ...

Anyways, there's too much at stake right now for me to lose my job ... Should I lose my job, I'll have to move back home as I won't have an excuse to live in Orange County anymore (traditional Asian family dynamics, hard to explain) and there goes the remainder of my freedom ... That will also affect the relationship with my SO as well as my mental health :push:

Argh, what a way to start 2007.
  2. Ooooh so sorry to hear all that! Hopefully they will pass over you and keep you. I'll say a little prayer for you:flowers:
  3. This too shall pass!!!