questions for interning in NYC

1. while I was visiting nyc last december, I met with some firms and I got an offer for a summer internship! I'm soo excited! I cannot wait! :yahoo: So now the big dilemma is where I am going to stay. The firm that accepted me is mid-size so they don't provide housing for their interns. I would really3 appreciate it if anyone has recs for where I can find a decent priced sublet in UES. I stayed in midtown when I was in nyc last december and we mostly went around UES so I'm sort of familiar with the place. I'm still a student so I'm in a tight budget although I think my mom is willing to pay at least half of my rent for the summer coz I don't want her to pay for all of it(yes I'm a good daughter :angel:) since my internship is gonna be a paid one. So my criteria is that the place should be in a safe neighborhood and near a subway. Would really3 appreciate any recs, tips, or leads on anyone who is subletting their place for the summer(June-August). Thank you so much in advance. :cutesy:

2. Try craigslist, anyone I know who has found a great deal on a student's budget found their apartment there. You should also look into getting a roommate, but it may be difficult to find housing for the short period that you're staying - most leases are for the year. Good luck.

3. I've been looking at craigslist but I think most of them are unfurnished? So I am looking at sublets since I am only gonna be there for the summer. Thanks though

4. i would also keep looking at craigslist. people should start to know their summer plans in the coming weeks- like mid jan. so things should start to pop up. just try to be patient and something will come along. could be someone is looking for a room mate for the summer too.

These are rentals, but the map gives you a breakdown of the different neighborhoods of manhattan http://www.citi-habitats.com/byRental.php