question about quality issue on Mombasa... any help appreciated..

1. Hi! I usually post on the Balenciaga forum but I have a feeling i will be posting here often as well as I am falling in love with YSL all over again. :heart:

I have a Mombasa from a while ago (2004 or 2005 perhaps) and recently brought it out again and noticed that the leather loops where the rings attach to the body of the bag are sort of crackling underneath. The leather on the outside is fine, but the bottom layers under it have separated and are now many different think layers and are sort of cracking. I guess it doesn't look that bad, but I definitely didn't expect this, as I hardly use the bag. It is the light beige/cream color and you can see from the fact that it is pristine that I hardly use it. I wonder if using it more over time will create the same effect throughout the strap going around it? I think it is because those parts where the look are get more wear, but still. Do you think i could take it to the store? they are always so snotty (i am in Italy, where the concept of customer service is very different). Also, i think if they know the bag is from 2004 they will look at me like "what do you expect?!"... but if any one else has had this problem, please let me know... and let me know if you have ever brought it to their attention. I will try to post pics tonight! thanks a million!:smile:

2. just wanted to update: took the bag in today and a nice but a little snooty salesman told me that if I wasn't positive that it was purchased in the last two years, then it might be useless. They only do repairs for bags sold less than 2 years... anything else is considered "general wear". I said that I don't mind PAYING to get it fixed, and that in any case you can see from the bag that it is hardly used! and he said even paying they won't repair anything......