Purchasing LV overseas: London/Italy

tswornum

Jul 21, 2016
Hello All!

I am new to PurseBlog :smile: but I am dire need of answers and I thought it would be best to come where the experts and vets can be found.

I want to purchase a Keepall 50 for traveling purposes. Originally, I was going to buy in my home city, Boston, during the Massachusetts Tax Free weekend on the 3rd weekend in August to save about $80 in taxes. But yesterday, I heard on the news that MA will not be having a tax free weekend this year. So I said I’ll just buy whenever.

BUT this then led me to do more research… I’m going to London and then Rome at the end of August to the beginning of September. So I continued researching to compare purchasing overseas vs purchasing in the states and it seems I’ll save a decent amount of $$$ if I purchase overseas.

I looked at the prices on LV’s UK site and LV’s Italian site, read up on the VAT refund, duty free, and some other things but I still had a few questions (actually it’s a lot, sorry in advance) and I wanted to confirm some things as well.

Prices (from the site):
UK LV – £850.00 ($1,122.52)
Italian LV – €1.010,00 ($1,113.32)

Do the prices above already include the VAT?

Are the prices online the same as the prices in-store? I’m most likely going to call each location I am interested in purchasing at closer to my departure date just to make sure the bag is in stock.

What I would pay at home is $1,457 (tax included), which is about $330 - $340 more than what I would pay either in London or Rome. This is a score in itself, is it mandatory for me to apply for the VAT refund, which seems like a hassle?

If I do opt to apply for the refund, how does the entire process work?

If I do purchase in the UK, what is the difference between buying at the duty free shop vs at a boutique not located in the airport?