Pre-owned Bbags vs. New Bbags

yumcarrots

Nov 10, 2006
Hi Bbag experts...

I am a total novice on Bbags but have recently fell in love with them. They're just gorgeous!!! Quick question and please pardon my lack of knowledge, but I am just curious to know why are people buying used Bbags on eBay for close to (or sometimes over) $1,000 and/or retail price, when you can purchase a brand new one from Aloharags for just a little bit more (with no taxes and free shipping)? Is it because people like the specific year and/or color that the Bbag was made? or... ? Thank you for your time! :rolleyes:

Reactions: Namwan-
hi yumcarrots, and welcome to the forum :smile:
i happen to like pre-owned b bags because they're already used and the leather's become more softer and beautiful. which is the case with b bags, they got better with age.
and i also think lots of people buy pre-owned, because they're looking for the old colours...
and i also have a thing with "pre-owned" items :P
i just love them when they are used as i also prefer my lv to be used and the vachetta turned to patina :yes:

Thanks, seahorseinstripes, for your clarification! :smile:

I guess I have never felt a pre-owned Bbag before. I know the new ones I saw in NM aren't as soft and smooshy as they're usually decribed as.... so maybe that's the reason why some people preferred pre-owned (and of course, the discontinued colors).

Yup, for Bal leather it needs to be used, loved, abused, given TLC before it really reaches the ultimate smoochiness level :love: With constant use the leather does turn softer and not as (for a lack of a better word) hard as a new bag.

For most people, I think colors play a very very important role in whether or not people buy used bags. Even the slightest variation of color from a different season could turn out totally different after continued use.