Pls help - about to place order for first birkin

1. Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here and about to place my first order for a 30cm birkin. I have been doing all my research here and which has been really helpful since my nearest H store is 6 hours away.

I have narrowed down my leather criteria to the following (in order of importance):

- stiff leather
    - lightest in weight
    - water resistant (as much as possible)

Which leater best suits my criteria?

Thanks for your all in advance.
  2. Have you looked through the leather book at all on a previous visit to the store? If you want really light weight and stiff, you probably want Epsom. It's quite thin and very rigid. It's a pressed leather, embossed with the grain as opposed to having a natural grain like Togo or Clemence.
    It's relatively OK with water water resistance though no leather is truly water resistant of course.
    I will say that if you are not well versed in H leathers be sure to take a close look at the way Epsom takes dyes. Some people really like it, some don't--it tends to be a little less saturated in color than some other leathers. It also has a very different hand-feel than most H leathers.
    If Epsom doesn't turn out to be the leather for you, you might want to consider Chevre, though availability is a little tricky and they are about to introduce a new Chevre for s/s 08. Chevre tends to be lightweight, hardy, fairly stiff (though the newer one isn't quite as stiff as either of the "older" chevres in my opinion), and quite good with the occasional raindrops.

Hope this helps!
  3. Given your criteria, the leather would be Epsom.
    And I disagree with Cynthia about the way Epsom takes colour. Some colours truly POP in Epsom and one of my favourite colours in Epsom is cognac.
  4. * some colors ;) I was thinking more of the reds, blues, raisin.