Please Help with this Kelly

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi,

My first time here so I hope you guys can help. I'm thinking of buying a nice white Kelly handbag as a surprise gift for my wife's upcoming birthday. I've found this bag and the price seems too good to be true. Plus after checking the "bids", all of them seem to be from non-descript bidders, very strange!

Can you experts tell from the pictures if this bag is a real Hermes Kelly?

Thanks in advance!

2. I am no experts in Hermes products, but I own several Hermes bags. Even amateurs like me can tell the bag is fake.

There are other telltale signs, too.
    1. The price is too good to be true. The starting bid was $9.99. Nobody in the right mind will put a $6000-$8000 bag up for sale for that little. Even when the bid goes up to around $1,500 now, the price is still too good to be true.
    2. The auction is private, and all bidders' names are hidden. A bad, bad sign! This means that there can be shill bidding going on, forged by the seller.
    3. If you look at the seller's feedback history, you'll notice that the person has not sold much in the past. More importantly, all previous sales were private, so a lot of information could have been forged. For high end items like Hermes products, you stick with the sellers from the recommended sellers list in the Hermes subforum.
    I know there are many legitimate Hermes look alike products for sale, and this bag could be from one of those sites. The look-alike costs only a couple of hundred dollars.

By the way, are you really, really shopping for an authentic Kelly? I know there are fake bag sellers who lurk around in this forum wanting to know how to tell fake Kellys apart, so they can perfect their replicas? If the former, welcome, and please visit the Hermes subforum for further help. If the latter, sorry to disappoint you, because nobody here will tell you.
  3. Thank you all for your help.