Please give me the low down on high end shoes Gucci vs. Jimmy Choo vs. Manolos etc.

1. Hi,

I am pretty new to buying high end shoes. I am noticing the sales lately, and I purchased two pair of Chanel wedges, one with white patent leather and blue patent, the other with tan leather and black patent and a fabric ribbon that ties arount the heel. I also purchased a few Gucci shoes. I am confused however about whether Manolos or other designers are known to be better made, and a better investment in the long term. I wonder to myself why Manolos get so much hype. I am looking for general shoes for every day walking in the summer, but also an evening shoe. Perhaps later I will post pics of the actual shoes for opinions.

I wonder if my money is better spent on a pair of Manolos not on sale, than a pair of Gucci or Chanel shoes on sale. Sales also generally only take off $200, so is it better to buy something from the current collection? And, when buying a shoe, how much thought should be put into whether you have the bag to match? Is patent a bad idea in a shoe, especially white patent? Is it a waste of money to even buy high end shoes? Is it better to save money for bags, clothes and jewels?

Can anyone give me the lowdown on which brands are investment brands, and what sort of shoes are worth putting money down for? How much wear can one get out of a designer shoe like a Manolo? Would you buy a Gucci sandal? Or only a Gucci stilletto?

Thank you!
  2. I love all of my designer shoes:love: ! I only have one pair of Manolos, only because they are not my taste (a little too plain), I tend to go for Gucci, quite a bit....and other more obscure high-end brands...the way that I look at it is if I spend a lot of money on a shoe, I want it to have a little something special to it. I generally buy the stilettos, because I wear these shoes out at night, and I think they are worth every $$$$.