Please be gentle on this intimidated newbie, but could use some pointers!

1. Okay, I'm new to this whole nice purse thing. I buy ridiculously fancy perfume and have nice jewelry, but somehow missed the whole handbag ensemble thing growing up. It's been a catchall for disorganized receipts, with checkbooks and a bit of makeup (and always, always several perfume decants!) tossed in.

I am ashamed to admit, that I've never spent more than $50 on a handbag. :blush:

*deep breath* I'm Merricks_Girl, and I want to learn about nice handbags.

There, I've said it! :wtf:

The only bummer is, I'm in the midst of a horrible house renovation that is tapping all finacial (and mental and emotional) resources, so I'm going to have to spend the next little while just learning and figuring it all out until I have a bit of breathing room to do a bit of shopping. And...I always love good deals! I've noticed that ebags and eluxury, plus all the usuals like Macy's, etc have money back through some of the rebate sites so I'm thinking that is a nice way to get a bit extra off, too, especially for more spendy purchases.

But what to do - where to look - how to start?! I don't think I can start off at the $800 level (unless that house sale goes *really* well! :lol: ) so I need something in the lower-end-of-higher, if that makes sense! I do like the Cole Haan Village Tote a whole lot.... I've seen a couple on eBay sold as "in used condition" by someone who has really good feedback for selling authentics - looks like they find things at garage sales or thrift stores...would that be a possible first step, given the stupid house situation, or should I just save up to get a brand spanking new one?

Thanks for any help....
  2. Hi and welcome. I'm pretty new here too.