pilates Ab workout??

1. Hey everyone,

i am new to this whole pilates workout, i used to have a 6 pack, now after 2 pregnancies i have a little to grab (not much, just very little) i used to be an athlete all my life, now i feel like i am so out of breath when i do the smallest things, so i started tae bo, i think its so much fun, and i want to do the pilates at home, the ab work out. does it really help? did u belly tighten up at all? how long did it take. dh grabbed my sides yesterday and was making fun of me, couldn't believe what he saw. lol. so i gotta do something now, wanted to anyway...
  2. well i've never done abs pilates specifically but i did pilates for quite awhile (until i couldn't afford it anymore) and it was amazing i loved it so much. i felt really healthy and in touch with my body. so i would recommend it
  3. i have a pilates abs workout i do at home and ...it's pretty hard. you essentially keep your abs contracted the majority of the time. you really do feel the burn, both during the workout and the day after. i generally can't go through the whole thing, even though it's only like a 20 min workout...because it's like keeping your abs contracted and flexed for 20 min straight. ouch.
  4. pilates is great for your abs, but generally it wont give you the 6-pack look. it tends to give most people the long, lean ab look instead. but if youve already had a 6-pack, it might come back for you. as to how long it will take, its like every other workout routine, about 3-4 weeks to see real results. it will def help with your obliques though! no more teasing from the hubby :yes:
  5. I do Pilates 3 times a week (in a class, on an Allegro machine) It is the only exercise routine I have ever liked and have stuck with - It has been a year now and it has done wonders for my body.
  6. wow. ok, i am very excited now, i should be doing pilates right now, and not be on tPF...lol i have a wedding to go to on friday, i guess it wont do much for 2 days..