People with degrees in SOCIOLOGY - what do you do?

1. I took this key from the psychology degree thread. My SO is graduating with his BA in sociology (concentration in criminology) in December. Originally he went into college thinking he ultimately wanted to be a detective, and so he got his associates in criminal justice, but went onto uni and majored in soc/crim to broaden his horizons. Now he's a bit lost. He's interning now as a data analyst but doesn't really feel it much. I think it's such an odd major (I'm adolescent education/Spanish - so my path is sorta laid out :/) - and so I'm doing research on possible career paths for him.

Any advice? :confused1: Mainly I'm looking for people who graduated uni with this degree and looking to see what they do now.

2. my mom has a sociology degree from Auburn and she works for Social Security. then again, my dad as a degree in PR from Georgia and so does he.

i've always taken that sort of degree as a general 'hey, i graduated from college, hire me at some office job' degree. i think very few people actually use it. he has a lot of options; i'd suggest that he find a company or organization that he wants to work for and go from there.

3. I have a degree in Sociology and Biology. I wanted to use my Soc degree to work in the non-profit sector and I did after college. I burned out...worked too hard and got no where, so now I use my Bio degree to do biomedical research in neurobiology. Soc. degrees can be applied to do many things: work in local government jobs, social work (if you continue your education), non-profit jobs, etc. Another route is to continue grad school and come up with a social theory and get a masters/Ph.D. and there is lots to do in this area, but there is very little pay and lots of work, writing and teaching and most likely, lots of politics withing the program.

What does your SO like about sociology or what aspect of it?