Pay Pal Nightmare!!!

1. I'm going thru the biggest Pay Pal nightmare right now and just wanted to vent - and caution all other Pay Pal users that this could happen because no where on the Pay Pal site does it warn you of this!! Let me just start out by saying that I'm relatively new to eBay and Pay Pal. I opened both accounts at the end of December, and until now had purchased just two items - both wonderful Balenciaga items and both from lovely TPFer's. Both transactions went beautifully - I paid thru Pay Pal using my CC immediately after hitting BIN and there were no issues using Pay Pal - everything went smoothly. So, on Monday afternoon I made an offer on a 2002 Black Flat Brass First (!!!) - major HG item!! - that was in excellent condition and also being sold by a lovely TPFer. I saw the following morning (yesterday) that the seller had countered and I accepted and proceeded immediately to pay. As I tried to pay, though, for lack of a better way to explain it, Pay Pal wouldn't let me progress through the screens - it just kept reverting back to the payment screen and I couldn't get the transaction to go thru. I called Pay Pal and explained the situation and they said that the transaction wasn't going through because my account had something called "Buyer Credit" that would have to be deactivated if I did not want to use it, which didn't sound right because I had previously completed two transactions without knowing to deactivate it, but I followed their instructions and deactivated it. The transaction still wouldn't go through. I called back and after speaking to a second representative and a supervisor I was finally told that because my account is new there was a security feature that was being triggered because of the dollar amount (which, BTW was only approx. $300 more than my last eBay purchase which was paid for via Pay Pal with no problem) and that there was nothing they could do to override this. The supervisor suggested that I contact the seller and a