Patent Leather

lovebag

Feb 15, 2006
The attached is a Prada bag. It is made of patent leather. I have no experience and don't believe I have seen a patent leather bag in person as I assum all glossy-surfaced bags are made of vinyl.

Could somebody explain the duribility of a patent leather bag? Is there a particular type of leather or reason for adding the layer of gloss, aside from the obvious design reason.

Is it a bag suitable for daily use. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• patent leather.jpg
    patent leather.jpg
    111.2 KB · Views: 71
I think of patent leather like vernis leather: pretty and high-impact, but somewhat impractical because it is very sensitive to scratches and smudges. I think the layer of gloss is mainly for aesthetics, not for protection, lol. So I'm pretty sure patent leather, while you could carry it every day, would be hard to take care of daily, even if you baby your bags.

i've found that with patent leather (at least the darker colors) every little scratch/smudge is magnified.....every little fingerprint looks like a giant spot of dirt on the otherwise flawless surface of your baby's face......

Hmm patent leather. I know when it first came out in the 1818 it was made by covering a cowhide with a linseed-oil based coating; modern day patent leathers are made with plastic coatings though. In terms of durability... be super careful with them. As JC said EVERYTHING is intensified! With time, the shine and gloss of the leather goes away, leaving behind a leather that is softer than most others.

*wikipedia*

I've got a patent leather wallet that I've had for years--it's a very subtle metallic chocolate brown. And I once had a patent red purse. With the dark patent, yes--the fingerprints are really noticable. Oh and I think it's Chanel that warns that their white patent can turn yellow over the years... But I don't know if that's all white patent or just Chanel's.