Online or wait?

1. Hello!

This is my first post since I am fairly new to the Purseblog and this forum. However, I have been reading heavily in the past couple of weeks. I must say that you all are very informative and knowledgeable. This forum has helped me greatly in my efforts to gain knowledge of Hermes and its Birkin bag.

I would like to purchase a new Birkin for my wife for our first anniversary (it is coming up in roughly four months), and I have some things I would like to receive your opinions on since you are the experts! Should I purchase a Birkin from a reputable online seller or should I try my luck at finding a Birkin at my local Hermes (NYC - Madison) boutique? I understand that purchasing online is the safe way to go in order for me to guarantee that I have one before our anniversary. However, is there a decent chance that I may be able to pick one up directly from Hermes? Unfortunately, although my wife and I have purchased smaller items (ties, scarves, jewlery, etc.) several times in the past, we have worked with random S.A's. Therefore, we do not have a "relationship" with any one particular S.A.

Regarding online purchasing, aside from the price difference, I would feel better and more confident about the product if I were to buy directly from the store. However, If I were to buy online, I am thinking of purchasing one from either Luxwear or Createurs de luxe due to their large selection. Please let me know if you recommend any others.