NYC - Where do you shop for trendy and fairly priced clothing?

1. A lot of people suggest H&M for trendy and fairly priced clothing, but I've been to that store and I absolutely cant find anything nice in there. I think the quality of their clothing is horrendous! It feels so cheap. Well, I will admit that their clothing is trendy and very cheap! But, I really cant stand that place. I also dont understand why there were just so many ppl packed in H&M when Viktor&Rolf designed several clothing for them. The quality of their clothing was still horrible.

Of course, Barney's is the epitome of shopping heaven, but it is, of course, really expensive. So is, Bergdorf Goodman and Saks. Where do you shop? I'm a college student and I work part-time, so I don't have TONS of money to shop. But, I do shop alot.

Does anyone shop at Zara or Mexx? If so, what do you think about their clothing/style?

2. what about trying banana republic/jcrew? their pieces don't really look "trendy" and their quality probably isn't up to par with premium designers, but add in some fabulous accessories (like belts, necklaces, etc.), those classic pieces constitute a pretty fresh and trendy outfit!

3. *century 21 has some good stuff

4. For the young and trendy, Banana is definitely good, it is not cheap however.
    I found, for my daughters and actually even for myself ZARA does have great clothing, some look so close to Armani, Ellie Tahari, etc., so as to fool anyone's eye and their prices are great., for you, I would definitely say Zara and Banana!

5. sample sales are the best way to go!

zara is great for style, so so on the material, but style can make up for some of that. they are also reasonably priced, probably b/c they are usually polyester based.

jcrew/banana are good for basic sweaters, pants, shirts, for school...especially if you get them during final sale!

century21, syms, loehmans, are all great for bargain hunting...if you have time to sift through the stuff.