Nutrition Tips for my Fellow PF's

1. OK everyone. I'm pretty new here, but since I've been reading the Health & Fitness section I keep seeing basically the same questions being asked. I am a personal trainer, group fitness instructor, and do nutritional counseling.

Most questions are coming from people trying to lose weight/body fat.

Basically each human being is genetically unique. Consequently, each of us has a unique set of nutritional needs. The same foods may have very different effects in different bodies. For example, some people function best on a high carb diet, others on a moderate carb diet, and still others are able to adapt to either. Some people tend to store excess fat very easily, while others seem able to eat all day and stay lean...and so forth.

You can't truly optimize your nutrition for your body by following general guidelines. The guidelines will take you most of the way, but to finish the job you have to pay attention to how various foods and eating patterns effect YOU. One helpful way to monitor the nutritional cause-and-effect in your body is to keep a food journal. Record everything you eat throughout the day, and also note how you feel and function after every meal.

Those concerned about body weight or composition, eat breakfast every day and if possible eat 5 or 6 times per day. Calories eaten in the morning are more likely to become heat energy than they are to be stored as fat. Starving yourself in the morning also tends to result in overeating in the evening.

Eating smaller meals frequently also tends to result in less fat storage than does eating large meals infrequently, because the amount of energy in a small meal is sufficient only to supply the body's immediate energy needs, whereas a larger meal provides excess calories that are not needed immediately and are therefore converted to fat.