Newbie's question. Please recommend

1. Hi, I am new here. I am wondering if someone could recommend me a handbag.

I am in my 30s. Because I haven't really cared that much about handbags before, I am thinking I'd start with one that's not that expensive... My budget may be within a few hundred? Depending on how much I like the bag I guess. It will help if I can look at some pictures of bags, and get an idea about what kinds of bags are more 'classic'.

Thank you very much and any input will be appreciated. :heart:
  2. Welcome to the forum! I'm a bit of a newbie here myself.
    Before I start shooting out suggestions, I would like to know...

What would you be using the bag for? Everyday stuff like errands, or do you want a work bag, or an evening bag, or something versatile that can perform several functions?

Also, would you prefer a large bag, or a small bag, or something in the middle?

And do you have a color preference? Below, I list mostly black bags, just because that's my personal preference - it does go with everything after all!

Coach is definitely a good brand to go to for a "first big brand buy." They are very good quality but in the low to mid priced range.
    The Coach Carly is a beautiful and very classic bag that someone on this forum recommended to me a few days ago. It costs $498 and comes in several colors.

Another brand I really love, which has less of a longstanding reputation but makes great bags for relatively cheap prices, is Tano. They are slightly trendy but still something you could carry a few years from now without embarassment. Most of their bags are under $300.

I also like Ani bags. Their Nadia bag is a great everyday purse.

I like a lot of the bags on I've never bought anything from there but it's gotten some good press on this forum. They carry several brands and their bags have really good quality leather and classic shapes.
    I really like this's $356 and the leather looks beautiful. What a nice shape!