Newbie to Marc Jacobs...looking for advice

1. Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to Marc Jacobs…I can usually be found in the Coach forum. I have long been an admirer of MJ bags and am thinking of purchasing one in the next couple of months. I'm starting to do some searching for which bag I might like to get and so far I like the Venetia (quilted version), Blake and all of the Stams!!

What do you all think would be a good first Marc Jacobs bag for me? I definitely prefer larger bags over smaller bags...

I really love the Stam Quilted Satchel in Truffle, I found it at Saks.

They also have it in black, which is nice, but I think I like the Truffle better…Also, how safe is it to purchase these on eBay? I have purchased several Coach bags on eBay, but I'm very very familiar with that brand, so I can spot a fake in an instant…Are the Marc Jacobs bags faked a lot?

Thanks so much for your help!
  2. MJ is definitely faked A LOT. I would post anything you're contemplating on Ebay in the authenticate this thread here 1st. I was just browsing & there's fakes everywhere, and I'm not an expert.

As far as the bags - I think it depends if you prefer shoulder or hand held. The Venetia straps aren't really big enough for over the shoulder.... I like the Stam & the Blake, but double rolled straps like on the Blake don't stay on my shoulder. I have a smaller version of the stam (more like a clutch size) and just ordered the little stam. I really like the easy in & out of it with the kisslock closure. I love the color of the one you posted too!
    If possible, I would go to a store & try them all out to see which one carries better on you.