New job sucks!

1. I've been working for a couple of days now selling shoes at the mall.:push: It totally sucks. I get $8.50 an hour and have to deal with *****y people. The second day I was there, I started at 7am and got off at 1pm, and had to return at 3pm until closing (10:30pm) because one of the girls decided not to show up for her shift. That was like, 14 hours on my feet. I didn't even get a dinner break! :yucky: I was soo hungry by the time I was allowed to leave, I thought I was gonna pass out when I was driving home. My toes started cramping while I was pulling shoes off the shelves in the storage room and I've got blister's all over my heels.

What sucks about all this is I have a college degree! My boss didn't even go to college! I graduated top of my class in Psychology and I can't find a job outside retail! :yucky: :push:
  2. cutiepie, so sorry to hear that! Ironically I was thinking about getting a job in retail because I want to be a buyer sometime in the future and I don't think I can do that without any retail experience.

You just need to get out there and see what else the job market has to offer. In the meantime, I hope your new job get's better :yes:
  3. Sorry to hear that.

I was a psychology major, also. Do you know exactly what you want to do yet?
  4. Eeeeekk...sorry cutiepie. Hope things get better in REAL SOON! :flowers:
  5. I've been sending my application out to different companies this week. I am waiting for a call back now. The retail job was something that I hoped would be temporary, but if I don't get any call backs, it might be more long term than I want. It seems like nobody wants a psychologist nowadays. I was hoping to get some experience working in mental health while I get my master's degree, which I will be starting next month.
  6. Hi Buttery,