Neewbie NEEP HELP~looking for a small diamond ring

1. hi ladies..
    this is my first time to consider to buy a diamond ring for myself, and i need your help...
    i am looking for a small ring...under .35 CT..since this is not a engage ring...i think i only need something small but pretty:p
    i went to Tiffany to ask about the price...it come out around 1500 for a good color but small CT.
    i am just wondering do you think it is worse to buy from Tiffany? or i should go to the jewelry store in mall, like KAY...etc? anyone could suggest me which retail store is good? how much is a fair price for a .25 CT diamond ring with FG color and not bad clarity?

thanks for your input...and sorry for my stupid question....i am a newbie for this...:sweatdrop: :sweatdrop:

2. Tiffany is overpriced for decent quality, and Kay is overpriced for less-than-decent quality, IMO. $1500 is probably twice what you should pay for a quarter-carat stone. I suggest that you avoid mall chains and instead go to independent, reliable jewelers. You might also want to check online, Blue Nile is considered an "expensive" internet retailer but even they are cheaper than most brick-and-mortar stores.

3. thanks Raspberry...i will google it..."Blue Nile" right?!

is clarity important? if it is just a small stone?
    i went to tiffany store, and the SA told me if its a small stone. i should only consider the color...anything close to D the better...is this correct?

for the reliable store...i dont have any experience for diamond purchasing...:push:
    all of my jewelry is from tiffany and other's are from designer custom jewelry..

can anyone give me a suggestion either store or website...

thanks a lot :yes:

4. I was thinking something similar the other day, or should I say, dreaming about an engagement ring :p