Need advice on getting dog & intro to cat...

murasaki

Balenciaga Forever
Jan 7, 2006
Hi all! I love seeing all the pics of your babies (doggies) in your avatar, pets & purse contest, and posts and I've been yearning to own a dog for two years now. About two weeks ago, my roomate found a lost dog running around on a major boulevard near my home late at night.. so I got the opportunity to babysit the dog (a chihuahua mix of some kind) until we could get him to the SPCA. I wanted to keep this precious dog but I knew there could be someone looking for him. But the next day, my BF and I stopped by our local pet store to see if they recognized the dog... sure enough, the sales person did. She said the day before, a woman brought the dog to the store to get him fitted for a muzzle and she was quoted as saying "if I do not find a muzzle that fits this dog, I'm not bringing him back home". Apparently, the dog tried to nip at her teenage daughter's face. The woman left the store without finding a muzzle that would fit because his snout is really small. We think maybe she abandoned this dog, but who knows.. it was too much of a coincidence. Anyway, the owner of the pet store happened to be there and fell in love with him on the spot. He volunteered to foster him as we told him we were just on our way to the SPCA. Needless to say, he ended up adopting him for himself.

Anyway, (sorry for the long post), to make this story short, the experience has made me want a dog even more now but my BF is very reserved at this time about getting one and we are huge dog lovers BTW. Since we're both working and only home after work, is it even a good idea to own a dog? Our roomates are in and out of the house. We also have a cat and my cat did not like the dog we had for a night... bapped him on the nose when he got too close! How do you working gals with dogs deal with the logistics so to speak? Also, anyone with experience introducing a new dog to a cat?