Nail Biting !!!

Jan 23, 2006
My sister was a chronic nail biter when she was younger, she stopped after my Mother bought her a nail polish that tasted awful.

I see people all the time just gnawing away at their nails.

Do you know of anybody that bites their nails ? Were you, are you a nail biter ? How did you stop ?

I was a nail biter. I have mostly stopped for the past twenty plus years with occasional relapses. But even when I am "good" I still sometimes pick off the polish. At this moment though, my nails are good!!!

I was a nail biter, I just quit about 6 months ago. I figured if I can quit smoking, I can stop biting my nails. But now they are brittle, they break easy..does anyone know how I can fix that?

My mother bought that same awful product even used hot sauce. Nothing worked I stopped sucking my thumb but biting my nails oh no. I wear tips now. So that's what stopped me.

I am a severe nail biter. which is why I have been wearing acrylics now for over 15 years! When I was young, my mother tried putting chili peppers, onions, garlic on my fingernails so that I would be less inclined to bite, but all that did was increase my tastebuds for those exact same spices LOLOLLLL!!!!

i still bite my nails :shame: it is truely a nervous habit for me. i can go weeks without doing it, my hands will start looking really pretty then something stressful happens and chomp chomp chomp. sometimes until they bleed.

the only thing that stops it is arcylics (and even then i still bite them, it just doesn't show)...but i can't find someone who will make them look nice AND mix the powder thick enough to keep them from breaking. :hrmm:

I was never a nail bitter. But then just a couple years ago I started to. For my new year's resolution I said I would stop. I did tons and tons of research about how to stop.

I really didnt use any of it other than every single morning I would put one coat of nail strengthener on and then a clear top coat.