Michigan PF'ers! Thoughts on Ann Arbor?

1. FH and I moved to the Dayton, OH area last year...and we both HATE it. There are few job opportunities here for Mr. Crackers, and Ohio drivers are terrifying (no offense Vlad and Megs!), which makes me very unhappy since I have a 30-40 min commute every morning to work.

FH is looking at a few companies in Ann Arbor, Michigan right now. From what I can see, it looks like a nice place, not too big. The U of M looks pretty expensive compared to what I'm paying now, which is a downside. The crime rating is soooooo much better than Dayton.

Do any of you live in Ann Arbor, or nearby? Are there any other schools besides UM? What are the rental costs like? Any public transportation? Just trying to get an idea. TIA!

2. I am a student at U of M. It is expensive but I think it is certainly worth it! I love AA, it's a nice place to live! PM me if you have any other questions!!

3. Husband and I are U of M grads and big fans of Ann Arbor. We live in the suburbs of Detroit about 40 miles away. We go to Ann Arbor all of the time for games and just to hang out. It is a great town. There are a lot of buses around town. Rent is a bit more pricey than other neighboring areas.

Also near Ann Arbor is Eastern Michigan University in Ypsilanti. Lots of Eastern students also live in Ann Arbor or live in Ypsi which is a bit cheaper.

4. If you think Ohio drivers are terrifying, you won't think any better of Michigan ones! I live just on this side of the Michgan line and go up to Detroit and Ann Arbor all the time. I'm from KY, so I'm not biased here on the driving, but the MI folk scare the crap out of me compared to the OH. I've lived in Italy and NYC too (with some other of the scariest drivers). After the ramble-----It's a great area up there. There's a dueling piano bar in Ypsilanti we've been to a few times, too. Ann Arbor is also great if you're into art at all.