memories of your young style influences

1. I am not sure what to name this thread. It occured to me today how LUCKY kids are now. They have so much access to style and the stars via the internet. If they like Hillary Duff or Kate Moss they only have to type in their name to find a million images of them and tons of info about what they wear.

In 1985 I was 13 and barely allowed to watch music videos. (Remember Friday Night Videos) I fell in love with Madonna. But all I knew of her was the little that I saw on TV. I studied her video "Borderline" on VHS tape. I watched it again and again making notes about her outfit. I didn't know who designed her clothes, where to get the leggings, the boots, the bracelets. Mom only took me shopping at places like K-mart and the mall was for secret nights out with friends. And of course with no $$$$

No-one let me buy Tigerbeat magazine. I had to peice together my Madonna wardrobe where and how I could.

I wish in 1985 I could have searched "Madonna" on google and found all the pics and info I needed.

I'd love to hear other peoples stories.

[​IMG]
    Madonna - Madison Square Garden 1985

2. I've never really been directly influenced by what other people wear. I have always went with what appealed specifically to me. But then of course you have the media surrounding you and certain things just seep into your subconscious without you knowing and BAM you adopt a certain style (or a piece of it).
    Out of all celebs though, when I was young I did like a mixture of what the popstars wore. Like Britney Spears and the Spice Girls and just other random famous girls I would see in BOP/BB, TigerBeat, on TV, etc. Even though I did find the style nice to look at, I wasn't ready to try to mimic it myself since it wouldn't have been appropriate to say the least for a 10 year old to prance around in belly tops and panties peeking out of super mini dresses. Lol.