Medium or Large - which do you prefer?

1. Hi, I'm very new to Chanel and will be purchasing my very first Chanel bag! Of course, I'm thinking of getting the Classic Caviar Flap (in black and gold) but am indecisive on which size. I'm about 5'4, petite frame. Will the large be overwhelming for me? Is the medium size more of an evening bag? I'd like to use it for day and night, casual and dressy and hopefully to have a size that will 'grow old' with me... so please let me know which size you think is best!

Also, I will be visiting New York in October. Is it cheaper to buy Chanel in NY or should I just buy it here in Toronto? Can someone please post the price of a med and a large Classic Flap in U.S and Cdn $?

Thanks for your help!! :yahoo:
  2. I am 5"3 and just purchased the jumbo caviar classic flap and it does not look too big. It is large enough to use for everyday and I like fairly large bags. The medium flap is quite a bit smaller (to me) and when I get one it will be for day into night and dressier occasions. The jumbo flap is more of a day bag, but it could be dressed up, especially if you get the gold hardware. The price of the classic bags is due to go up November 1, but from other comments I think I have picked up that Canadians have to pay a pretty hefty luxury tax of some kind. The jumbo flap in caviar is currently $2250 US and it is supposed to go up either $300 or $400. I think the medium flap is now $1995 but I might be wrong.
  3. I don't think there is a general answer to this question. Some petite women I've seen look fabulous with the Jumbo, others not. I think the best answer is for you to try it on :p The medium is also great for everyday, and I would not consider it an evening bag. There's one size smaller, the classic pochette (aka East/West) which can be used for evening.