Making First Luxury Purchase, Need HELP!!!

1. Ok, so for many of you this wont seem like a "luxury" purchase, but for me it is. First off, the details.

I just turned 25. I work as a nanny during the day and soon will be going back to school at night. Given that I wear sweats and jeans with sneakers to work everyday, no makeup, and actually have the ability to forgo a shower and sleep in without it being frowned upon, I am obviously not concerned with carrying anything nice. I carried my nicest most buttery smooth leather bag to work one day and it got assaulted by a cream cheese bagel.

I know this is full on blasphemy, but I'm a 45min train ride away from NYC and before I lived here I was a 20 min train ride out of WDC so I do the majority of my bag shopping in Chinatown. I know, I know. I know most of you could tell, but honestly people are always asking about my bags and are shocked when I tell them I mostly carry fakes because I worry too much about damaging something that cost more than my car. Simply because it makes my life easier, I stick to wearing black, white, charcoal, and apple green. I also apparently have a "signature piece" that I didn't even realize I was wearing everyday which is a long green scarf...somewhere between mango skin green and olive. It wasn't a fashion choice, I wear it because I hate coats and it covers my stomach.