losing 45 lbs HOW?

1. I am not good with diets. I tried the Atkins diet for 6 hours once and that was it- could not take it. I am breastfeeding so I can't take pills (although they have never worked for me). I weigh about 170 and want to get down to 125-128. Any suggestions? I am not a salad for dinner type of person.
  2. I think the key is a combo of diet and exercise. You don't have to go OTT dieting at all. You gotta get movin though. Is there a way you can take your baby out walking or are you a member of a gym?
  3. ^^
    Yes, taking the baby out to walks in her stroller is a good idea to start with I think.
  4. Starting with walking and pushing that stroller will get you motivated!
  5. Sorry in advance, long post...

First of all I would say if you can find a buddy that you can exercise with or monitor weight loss goals with that would be great, even if it's online, for support. Unfortunately, there really are no quick fixes for weight loss which clearly it sounds like you understand. Fad diets like the Atkins, South Beach, etc may work for a short period of time but they are not meant to be lifelong. Instead, set up a reasonable diet for yourself. It wouldn't even have to be anyting fancy except for setting up a 1200 calorie diet or so. Or even as simple as 6 small meals a day. Or meet with a nutrionist (most gyms have them you can meet with) to set up something you can handle. It's important to remember it's a lifestyle change and not just a one time thing. Assess what you eat. Too much soda? Limit it. Not enough veggies? Throw some in. The breastfeeding will be to your advantage as you are burning extra calories.