Laptops & Coffee houses

sekmeht

Jul 13, 2006
Do any of you go to starbucks to surf?

do you think that people who do this are just doing it for attention or are they really working / studying?

Would they not be more comfortable at home?

When I was a student, I'd take my laptop and books and study at my local Borders Cafe. It was a "nicer" environment than the library, less stressful and I had the option of flipping through magazines during a break. Plus I could eat!

Yup. I'm starting to do it now that I have a Starbucks close to my school... I mainly use my laptop to charge my iPod and check my MySpace when I'm at Starbucks...

I go to our local Starbucks and Panera's all the time with my laptop. I do it when our internet is down, or sometimes as simple as I want a change of pace and a good cup of coffee.

not a fan of starbucks... but i often go to coffee shops with my laptop and a book every now and then. i often see other people reading, chatting, or surfing online.

I don't work well at home....I get too distracted by the fridge and TV! Going to a public place like a coffeeshop helps me to focus, ironically. I never use wireless though, ESPECIALLY not out in public gathering spots....too many freaks and hackers in the immediate vicinity who can break into your computer. I only use cable modem at home too. (had a HORRIBLE experience with a hacker who got in via my wireless...troubles still ongoing)

Do any of you go to starbucks to surf?

do you think that people who do this are just doing it for attention or are they really working / studying?

Would they not be more comfortable at home?

I'm confused. Who possibly would be working on a laptop "for attention?" Home probably has many distractions: noisy roommates, kids, etc. Also, some people just work better in a livelier setting like a cafe.