Lament of the shallow...

1. I've been venting here recently far too much, but I have just one more lament that's making me feel sort of superficial :crybaby: ...

So my boyfriend and I have had a bit of a rough road so far, not emotionally really, but because we're both starting out in life and our respective careers have been a challenge for our relationship. I'm a grad student, and while I make enough to support myself and the occasional bag, I'm certainly not financially solvent. When I met my boyfriend last spring, he was in law school and didn't have a dime to his name. He didn't have a car and he lived in a dorm! He was lucky to have caught a foxy lady like me :graucho: . When we went out on dates I basically picked him up at the dorm and whatever we ended up doing I would usually pay. Once he graduated he started his job hunt and lived at home with his parents 3 hours away from me. He got to use his parent's Mobil credit card, so he could come visit me at will basically and did, but when he came down or I went up I paid for almost everything. Especially this fall, he was truly broke. He got a job in December (yay! he's an associate at a firm in town), moved back here, and is settling into his new place. I thought finally, finally things will go better for us, we can relax. Well, after student loan payments, credit card payments (he doesn't have much credit card debt thankfully, but some), paying back his moving stipend to his firm, rent, utilities, boyfriend has a spare $25 a month until June, at which point he'll have paid off his moving stipend and have an extra hundred bucks a month or so. You know, enough to feed himself. He just figured this out today and called me...