kelly or Birkin...

cocochick

May 3, 2006
Hi there

I am totally new at this. Do not own a hermes but I am considering purchasing one.where do I start?

I am a little nervous going to the Hermes boutique and looking / sounding like an idiot?

I am considering a BLACK Bag. But which one should I get? Do I need to place an order? what is the price range?

Please help? I am dying to buy a hermes. Thanks ladies.

for birkin, i'd get a 30 cm and for kelly, a 28 cm. as for price, it depends on the bag's makeup. and for placing orders, that's usually a crapshot, depends on the SA. good luck!

I personally prefer the Birkin- the Kelly is more of a formal bag. I think a Kelly is about $5K and a Birkin is about $7K. Of course, this is excluding the exotics (croc, ostrich, lizard, etc., which will cost at least $10K, croc easily over $20K) I keep hearing conflicting reports on how long the wait is, anywheere from 6 months to 2 years or more. Of course, if you're a celebrity or spend a ton of money in Hermes you'll be able to get it a lot faster.

You should go to Hermes and speak with a SA. Tell them you are interested in purchasing a bag and would like to learn more about your choices. The store probably will not have a Birkin readily available (although you never know) to show you but they might have a Kelly and you could look at some of the other bags to get a better idea about how the different colors and leathers look. You could also ask to see the leather book.

As far as Birkin v. Kelly, it is all a matter of preference. I like the Kelly more than the Birkin but many people prefer the Birkin. For opinions about the size have a look at these two threads:

Birkin:

http://forum.purseblog.com/hermes/30-or-35-birkin-help-11373.html

Kelly:

http://forum.purseblog.com/hermes/opinions-on-28-versus-32-kelly-13900.html

Good luck!! I hope you find a bag you love very soon:flowers: