jogging question

1. I am about 30 lbs over weight and I have been jogging for the last 2 months 5 days a week. I have lost only 3 lbs. My question is, does jogging build muscle? I have noticed that my legs are very firm, you can not pinch any fat on my thighs or calves. And my stomach has gone down and my arms are firmer. I am just worried about NOT losing weight!
    I jog about 30-45 minutes 5-6 times a week and I do Pilates in the evening.
  2. Yes, running will help you build muscle. Remember that muscle weighs more than fat, so even though the scale number may not be going down, you may be losing fat still. I remember when I lost a lot of weight, I noticed a huge change in my body shape and toned up a lot before I noticed the numbers on the scale going down. Good luck with your running!
  3. I am not the right person to give you advice or wisdom, as I am not a professional, but I would like to say GOOD FOR YOU!!!

It seems to me that having toned your thighs, calves, stomach and arms proves that your jogging and Pilates is working! And I commend you for this! It takes a lot of energy and willpower to consistentely exercise. It has got to be healthy for you! As for the weight loss, I don't know... but 3 lbs. is better than no lbs. and as long as you are healthy and fit, keep at it. The rewards are sure to be greater than what shows up on the scales!