job hunting sucks.

1. i may have royally screwed myself over in terms of a job offer. :tdown:

Backstory: I'm a new graduate with a degree in Human Resources and have been looking for my first real job since graduation. I don't have any experience in my field, but I do have a few years of customer service and great references. I currently work part time at a call centre making a decent wage but would not consider working full time here because it's not in my field of study, it's boring, and they offer no health benefits (tho the other perks here are great ;)).

I've been sending out my resume for the last month or so, had a few interviews but no real prospects until this week. I finally got an offer for a HR assistant position at a small company. I like the company, office culture, good location, and the offer seemed decent but the main sticking point was the proposed salary. Barely above what I'm currently making, plus it's substantially lower than the national average for the type of position according to monster.ca, other job sites and the booming job market in my city. (Of course, maybe there's some pride involved too in that because I have a university degree I feel I'm worth more as well.)

So after reviewing the offer, I called back yesterday with a counteroffer. Understanding that I lack experience, and it's entry-level, etc, the number i gave was still lower than the national average but about $5,000 more than their original offer. The HR manager didn't seem very pleased with the conversation though, I got the feeling that I made myself look bad. Isn't counteroffering just a part of the whole recruitment process?

I haven't heard anything since. I'm kicking myself now thinking that there's the real possibility that they may just decide to rescind the offer and I'm back to where I started.