itinerary for nyc??

1. i need your help!!

i'm going to nyc for 4 and a half days in september and i'm trying to sort out an itinerary for my trip! has anyone got any suggestions of itinerary's they've used that includes all the major sights?

also, i want to fit in walking across Brooklyn Bridge and having pizza at Grimaldi's, but I have no clue how long it takes to walk across??

please help, i'm a complete nyc newbie!
  2. also, has anyone got any good advice as to how to get from Newark airport to midtown manhattan? is it easier to just get a cab? or is the njtransit a convenient way to travel?
  3. well the main sites are the statue of liberty and ellis island, empire state, rockerfella centre and central park.
    when i was there in march we picked and area and did everything in that area and then the next day did another part of the city.
    for example one day we did the rockerfella centre, MoMA and the shopping around there. the next day we went to liberty and ellis and then went to china town and soho. doing things that way makes it easier than trecking backwards and forwards across the city.

PM me if you want to know anything else. and have fun!
  4. You can take the Newark Liberty Airport Express bus to Port Authority in NYC for $14.00.
  5. is a good reference for things to do.
  6. both tripadvisor and fodors are great travel sites with lots of information -- I use them both to plan trips.
    cherry pie's suggestions are good ones
    MOMA is free on Friday nights -- very costly admission otherwise -- if you like modern art you should go
    definitely get out of midtown and walk around the twisty little streets of the Village -- if you want to shop best trendy boutiquey depart stores are in the meat packing district -- Pastis down there is good for brunch, Buddakhan is great for dinner.