is it healthy to replace dinner with oatmeal?

1. Just wondering, would it be healthier to switch to oatmeal as a replacement for dinner and keep the other 2 meals per normal?

Trying to lose a few pounds and i thought oatmeal is healthier

Any thoughts on this?

2. I'm not an expert at all, but I think it would be a nutritious meal if you add some protein and a little bit of fat (ugh!) to it too. I think all meals should consist of protein, fat and complex carbohydrates. If you add a piece of fruit and some milk it should be a good meal, but that's only my impression. Others may be more enlightened than me. At any rate, it's the kind of dinner I would enjoy!

3. what kind of oatmeal are you talking about?
    If its the instand kind then forget about it that stuff is crap and is not that good for you.

And leelee was right when she said that it would be much better to add some protein to it like protein powder or 4 or 5 egg whites. But then its like a breakfast meal so it doesnt really matter when you are eating it :smile:

4. Oh yeah eat more times a day like instead of 3 make it 5 or 6. This will kick up your metabolism

5. In my opinion oatmeal is a very healthy meal whenever you eat it and its way better than eating cereal instead. It helps you to reduce cholesterol, provides calcium and vitamins and helps you to reduce blood presure. Make sure you make your own oatmeal and not use the premade one that is usually very sweet. Or you can try the weight control quaker oats. I do substitute dinner with oatmeal, 1% milk and a banana when I had a heavy lunch. Only three grams of fat per serving too so it will definetly help you to loose weigh.

also;
    From where do the calories come in a serving of oatmeal?[​IMG]
    Nutrient
    # Grams Calories/Gram
    Total Calories​
    Complex Carbohydrates
    104​
    Simple Carbohydrates
    4​
    Protein
    20​
    Fat
    23​

http://www.quakeroats.com/qfb_OurBrands/BrandDetail.cfm?BrandID=5